A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, most people believe that social media and society can influence people and thus disregards the more important personalities. I strongly disagree with this view. However, this essay will explore two main reasons on how I feel on this matter. Firstly, in the past, before the advanced age of modern technology, people pay more attention to values. For instance, in the early 50s, society live a free and real world full of respect, kindness, trust and honour because everyone minds their own business. In spite of this, society has little or no influence on people's lives. From my point of view, I believe there was little competition in ancient times and thus the quench for material possessions differs for each individual. Individual opinions should also be seen as being key factors on relevant matters which can bring honour to them. Secondly, is the fact that trust was a common factor in society. For example, you can entrust your property in the hands of a stranger without a second thought. Besides, this is what is expected of a real world. More importance should be given to these great personalities because this is what define people rather than focusing on material needs. Therefore, social status should be waved aside. In addition to this, scams are rarely mentioned. In summary, our looks, wealth, fame should not be the top priority in our lives. Rather, Impacting good conduct in society, which brings honour and respect to us, should be our major concern. Focusing on these points will bring added benefits and more value to everyone.