Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Social mobility has become a controversial topic in contemporary lifestyles. In fact, it is believed that by replacing public decorations such as parks and gardens with blocks of flats, the time spent travelling to work can be drastically decreased. Although this statement can be viable to certain individuals, I disagree that it actually benefits our communities. Analyzing the meaningless of modifying recreational features with objects having identical sizes as well as the backfires of having dense residential areas will show this. Firstly, demolishing parks and gardens to give rooms for residential zones which have nearly the same width and length is unreasonable to improve travelling. For example, an average size of a park equals ten thousand square feet which can be compared to a general tower of apartments. Furthermore, this means the difference between spaces of these two types is insignificant regarding the purpose of moving time reductions. To sum up, such alterations cannot show any distinction in simplifying transportations in towns. Secondly, constructing more buildings in cities' centres can trigger even more severe traffic congestions. Indeed, more housing units in cities result in a higher number of inhabitants which surely causes an increased demand for moving. Moreover, the need can go even more dramatic during rush hours when people are going to work or home. Take Tokyo in Japan as an example, vast developments in downtown areas have made the transportations dense wasting thousands of hours every day for citizens to pass those crossroads in this aforementioned period. In conclusion, erecting public decorations in order to raise apartment buildings seems viable but in my opinion, the drawbacks overshadow the benefits. Meaningless values in compared sizes whilst the possibility of causing even more jams can be listed as reasons.