First impressions are more important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing good job? To what extent do you agree?

As the saying goes ' first impression lasts'. Many believe that we have to take this in consideration specially during job interviews to land a job. I firmly disagree with the above statement and will give reasons why in the following paragraphs. First, qualification of an applicant is the most important factor that could help him/her on getting the desired position. Although, dressing properly and being polite on the interview is not a bad thing, it does not necessarily mean that it is the most important thing to do. For example, if a person is applying for a job and he does not meet the requirement that the company are looking for, he is most likely not going to get the position he applied for. Thus, education background is the greatest contributor in getting hired on a company you are looking to apply. Second, a person can easily pretend that they are polite and nice on the first meeting. To explain, people tend to look and sound appealing to the interviewers in order to catch their attention, which does not work all the time. As mentioned before, they are usually looking at the qualifications not the looks. In addition, once they landed that job they are aiming for, that is when they will show their work ethics and behaviour at work, regardless if it is good or bad. That is why, i do not believe that first impression lasts. In conclusion, dressing up properly on a job interview is encouraged, it does not mean that it is the most significant factor to consider in applying for a job. However, one must know if he/she is qualified first before applying, by doing so, they will have more chance to be successful.