Some people think that music plays an important role in society. Others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

An overwhelming number of people hold the believe that music holds a crucial role in the community whereas other section of society think that it is just used for entertainment purposes. In my opinion, I strongly agree that music holds the greatest importance in the society as it helps people to heal from mental stress. As these points require prudent elaboration, let us delve deeper into them alongwith the pertinent examples and my own viewpoint in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, there are multifarious reasons behind why people think that music plays an important role in society which cannot be undermined. First and foremost, since music is important in society, it may hugely aid in inculcating aristic skills in people. To explain, when people plays music around them, they eventually get interested in the field of music and they might take this opportunity to learn music or take music for their career in future. As a result, not only do music plays a special role in motivating people to develop artistic qualities in them but they also more oftenly make a career out of this profession and brings laurels in the nation. To cite an example, Ms. Katharine Viner, the editor-in-chief of The Guardian Newspaper, in her editorial “Pragmatic effects of music in society ” in May 2017 clearly unveiled that many people were keenly interested in music because it usually helped them to develop artistic skills in them. On the contrary, even if music is commonly listened by people, another school of thought who believe that music is only a form of entertainment to them. Primarily, if people listen to music, they simply enjoy it for fun purposes. To clarify, whenever people want to enjoy their leisure time, music plays a part of entertainment to them so they may simply plays music around for their big celebrations, small house parties, big fat weddings and also for friends hangout time. As a consequence, people more likely plays music for the entertainment only as well as to enjoy better engaged conversations through music with other people in society.To exemplify, a painstaking research conducted by University of Maryland in the USA in August 2018 on a group of 1050 people ranging between 15-45 years old had clearly revealed that 87% of them listened to music as they wanted to entertain themselves only. In my opinion, I truly believe that as if music contributes an essential role in society, it definitely heal people from their illnesseses especially the mental sickness. To expatiate, I believe so because music has a healing power, these days people are usually suffering from mental stress and sickness and most of the doctors and psychologist advise people to listen to music to relieve their stresses out. Resultantly, not only do people be able to leave their hectic days’ tension away by simply listening to calm and peaceful music but they also enhance their overall efficiency at work and at personal lives. For example, Dr. Sigmund Freud, an eminent psycholoanalyst in his study of Human Behaviour and Cognitive Skills asserted that many people had been improving on their mental health since doctors recommended them music for its healing property. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that even though many people assert that music plays an essential role in society, for others it is simply a fun entertainment form. I vehemently espouse that music is one of the most unprecedented part of the society because it greatly helps people to heal from their mental illnesses.