Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the present, crime rates are significantly increasing. Some believe that death penalty will solve this problem and will lessen the frequency of violent crimes, thus resulting in a safer community. I firmly disagree with the above statement. Moreover, this essay will explain why capital punishment is not the best way to deal with crime. First of all, killing the offender to make way for justice does not make the world a better place. Although, the family and friends of the victim may get the closure and peace they wanted, it does not necessarily mean that it solved the problem. For example, in the Philippines we use this method to punish murderers, rapists, and human traffickers. Despite this, the rates of these specific crimes still remain high in the city and lower income neighbourhood. Thus, capital punishment is not as effective as it seems. Second, there are better ways to decrease violence in our surroundings. Incarcerating criminals will give them a second chance to turn their life around. Typically, jail offers a variety of program for inmates to develop skills while serving their time in prison. As a result, once they are out in the community, they will be able to use those skills for their advantage to land a decent job. That is why, jail time is more effective than death penalty. In conclusion, we live in a world where there is always going to be crimes. Although, some opine that death sentence is the key to end this. I strongly believe that this is not the most effective way and should be dealt within the four walls of jail.