Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some schools of thought believe that history should be considered one of the most valuable school courses, while others are of the opinion that science and technology be given more relevance. This essay agrees with the latter view that science and technology be prioritized above history or related courses and it helps drive the economy forward by contributing to a country's development. The essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, history as a subject, help one to appreciate one's ancestral background better by fortifying one with up-to-date information relating to one's history. As a result of this, one is better informed about one's culture and traditions and feels a sense of belonging. In addition, one can also appreciate the efforts of the past heroes who had made a significant contribution toward one's racial liberalization and or freedom. For instance, in Nigeria, the labor of our past nationalists in achieving our independence as a nation is well appreciated by consulting records from documented histories. In addition, we are also able to see one another as one great nation that had gone through a hard struggle to attain independent existence. On the other hand; science and technology as a subject of study; have contributed immensely to our development as a nation than any history course. Owing to its contribution to almost all aspects of human endeavors: agriculture, transportation, medicine, and even commerce; it has helped to positively drive the economy in the forward direction. For instance, productivity has dramatically improved especially with the development of mechanized farming, rather than the subsistent farming of the old which relied solely on labor-intensive farming techniques. In conclusion; though, history is important as a subject because it helps one to value one's ancestral background and appreciate our forefathers; I believe that science and technology should still be considered more valuable, due to its immense contribution to all aspects of human life.