In the past most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the development?

Over the last two or three decades, the technology has evolved with myriad innovations, resulting in communicating portable devices such as laptops, smartphones and tablets. At present, many people tend to work from home using these telecommunication techniques rather than travelling the workplace daily. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this development and try to draw some conclusion. I will start by looking at the advantages. One of the major plus points of distance employment is, you do not have to commute to work. Traffic congestion in rush hours has become the global issue today. So, as you do not attend the office physically, it will save not only your money but also precious time. Secondly, working remotely will allow more freedom. Many employees have a tough timetable in their daily working routine as they have to attend continuous meetings by preparing numerous presentations. But at home, you will have a chance of watching television, gardening and having chat with family which will help the recreation. On the other hand, there is a possibility of getting distracted in the home environment. For example availability of freedom will allow you to spend too much time in front of the television and social media like Facebook, WhatsApp, Viber, TikTok and etc. This will reduce your individual productivity which affects the overall performance of the organization as well. Another disadvantage is that the interconnection between staff members will be reduced. In the working place, you are associated with staff members who have different qualities to build up good friendships with them. Without those,relationships you will feel isolated at home. To conclude, there are both benefits and drawbacks of this way of distance working. I personally believe that it is more convenient to keep the home and workplace separately to maintain a work-life balance.