Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Several environment advocates are alarmed by the overwhelming rise in pollution, causing a detrimental impact on the lives of human beings and flora and fauna species. This issue of environmental degradation will be brought into the spotlight and will provide concrete evidence to support the statement. “ Water and air, the two essential fluids on which life forms depend, have become global garbage cans.” - Jacques Yves. Water is an essential resource without which our survival is impossible, yet marine bodies like reservoirs, rivers, oceans, etc. are being abused all over the world. There are innumerable reasons for the befoulment of these sources. First and foremost, the production of untreated industrial matter. The hazardous chemicals and toxic liquids are being discharged from many industries and factories, which are high in sulfur, lead, mercury, nitrates among other chemicals. Without any management technique, these toxins enter the river, causing eutrophication, changes in the colour and temperature of the water making the reservoir deadly for the organisms. For example, on the basis of the statistics, being the most developed nation in the world - China is the leading producer of industrial residue from factories and nuclear industries. Secondly, oil spills are a major contributor to the destruction of aquatic life. With the legal and illegal water transportation, the fuel discharged from these ships is a major source of marine pollution. Accidental spills cause commendable defecation of the sea, where the oil creates a layer above the water, making it difficult for sea organisms to breathe and claim lives. An instance, the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill claimed 80,000 lives of birds, 2000 lives of sea turtles and more than a million lives of other marine-based organisms. Lastly and the highest donor of water pollution is the agriculture sector where the growth of crops plays a vital role. In order to prevent the decay of plants, remove weeds and harmful insects, many farmers depend on fertilizers and pesticides for a good harvest year. During rainfall, these herbicides wash off and are deposited in the streams nearby, making them unfit for consumption and other activities for all mammals and plant species. In some cases, the groundwater is also supplied in nearby households where individuals use it for cooking, drinking, washing clothes, and other chores. For example, being the most polluted country in the world, one of the rivers in India, known as the Yamuna, is known for its escalated levels of poisonous pollutants. A quarter part of the river is covered by lethal white foam, with a heavy base of green algae. The rural population living by the banks, are entirely dependent on this noxious water body causing severe deadly diseases like cholera, diarrhoea, typhoid and other life-threatening sicknesses. In conclusion, these aqua reservoirs are under extreme threat, which will lead to a disastrous impact on the entire ecosystem. With suitable waste management measures, apt conservation methods and social awareness through petitions and online media, the scope for a better future for the Waterworld can be observed.