Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think it should focus on academic study only. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many hold a belief that tertiary education should train more professionally about practical skills of future career paths; while opponents argue that university curriculums should focus on academic and theoretical knowledge only. To the best of my knowledge, both points of view are grounded for the following reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that practical skills are one of the prerequisites to have a promising job in contemporary society. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, the increasing pressure of fierce competition has resulted in the higher demand for other skills like problem-solving or management. For instance, in many famous companies like Big Four, one of the outstanding financial companies in the world where graduates with numerous internship experiences are sought-after by employers. As a result, they could not only give them a chance to get a better job but also improve their ability to tackle problems in social life. Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that higher education should only pay attention to academic study because this is the most solid background for career development. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that the theoretical and practical skills are closely intertwined in one way or another. In other words, if people are not taught academic skills, they would not understand and concentrate on courses at university, which can affect their performances in future careers. In conclusion, universities or colleges should continuously maintain the skills of employment and not overlook the significance of academic knowledge as mentioned above.