Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative developments?

While in the past weddings were more simple, nowadays they have become more luxurious with massive expenses, this essay will outline some possible reasons, and I believe this approach mostly has drawbacks due to marriage reduction and its burdens. One of the reasons for such a fancy ceremony is the expectations. Today, people unbelievably expect more than ever from their lives, and media has influenced these desires. Weddings are not an exemption because many individuals consider them the most memorable day of life. Therefore, everybody wants this day to be as perfect as possible. In addition, seeking the best is human nature, so when people attend others’ weddings, they strive to achieve a better one for themselves. This will increase the standards in time and consequently, more expensive and extensive weddings. For example, people want to marry in a better place than the previous ceremony they attend. Nevertheless, this trend has several negative effects. The first one is that the number of marriages will decrease in younger adults since most likely they cannot afford financially. Another drawback is the burdens that both men and women have to endure. These pressures might cause a significant conflict between couples which may even last after the wedding. For instance, they may have a disagreement on choosing foods or the number of invitations. In conclusion, indeed, the number of fancier and costlier weddings have been incremented, but in my opinion, as the primary reasons mentioned, this approach will be beneficial neither for couples nor for society.