Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is a prevailing socio-economic concern in the modern world, moreover this inhibits the economic progress among the developing countries. There seem to be three main causes and two effects on both individual and society level, which will be discussed here. Perhaps the main cause would be the poverty level among the population. Being unable to afford to tuition, children from low-income family often drop out the school and take part in child labor to support their parents. In the worst economies such Sudan and Somalia, the high level of child employment positively correlates with the lack of literacy. A further well-known factor is generational illiteracy. According to the studies, poor academic achievement and high dropout rates persist across generations. The elders who have not been properly educated might not realize the necessity of the education, which brings about their children to end up being illiterate. The effect of this problem can be quite harmful on each level. Firstly, those who struggle with literacy often experience social ostracism and discrimination. In addition to cognitive skills, education helps people to build self-esteem, personal empowerment. On a society level, unmet demand in the labor market hinders both social and economic development in the country. As a result of under skilled manpower, most of the job vacancies in the market are unfilled, which leads a whole economy to encounter productivity loss. Overall, poverty level and intergenerational illiteracy seem to be the main causes, and they affect both individuals and the productivity in the economy.