Some people think competitions inside and outside of school is necessary for children to prepare for their future. Others think its bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Certain people believe that subjecting children to competition either in or out of school is an appropriate way of preparing them for future events. Others disagree with that and instead think it is not good. Personally, I agree with the latter suggestion because it promotes a competitive spirit among children which ultimately results in poor academic or career performance. It is true that competitions that are introduced inside and outside of schools can help equip children with better skills to survive in the coming years. Today, we live in a world governed by competition be it at school or work and if anyone is to survive, it means they have to out-perform others through competition. Hence, if the young ones are not exposed to this platform, they are likely to fail in their chase for better jobs as well as academically. Take, for instance, the vast number of students at universities that experience the daily challenges of the academic world, if they fail to fight their way through the competition, then they would be incapable of holding a job in future. Even though competition may be seen to be unhealthy for children at times, it is the only means of training them how to survive in a competitive job environment in future. On the other hand, competition is bad. Because exposing children to competition whether at learning institutions or in society only results in divisions and promotes a competitive spirit instead of cooperation. To put this in perspective, because young ones have been experiencing competition rather than working as a team, their mindset tends to deceive them into believing that they do not need others in order to perform well. For example, in a survey conducted on the effects of competition on children, it was determined that they were unwilling to help others in working on projects and would rather wish for them to fail. This leads to children opting for working in isolation while at higher institutions of learning which only results in poor academic performance. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my stance that even though the competition is viewed as a means of training children for future challenges, it only results in them developing ego and not unity. Therefore, it is important to ensure that whatever competitions they experience in or away from school is well monitored.