Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages ?

It has been argued that there are those who opt to go throughout the years of their existence by staying not far from the place where they spent the first days of life. The purpose of this essay is to discuss the possible reasons for this behaviour, as well as point out the benefits and drawbacks related to this. The main reason why people prefer to live close to the place they grew up is that such a place is close to their family. In fact, our parents' generation tended to live in the same place since they started their family. Thus, those that have a strong family connection prefer to live close to them. In addition, there is the possibility that the place where one's life has good career opportunities, which might influence their choice to still live there. To illustrate this, there is a well-recognized medical school with a hospital in my city, and due to this many of my friends chose to stay in our city to take get the degree, as well as work there after graduation. Considering that many choices of adulthood have gains and downsides, including where we decided to live. The main advantage can be seen as the great amount of time that they are able to spend with their families when they live next to the same region they were raised in. Furthermore, you might be able to work with people that are your friends, which makes work-life much more enjoyable. However, there are downsides associated with this choice, one of which is the lack of experiencing living other cultures. Finally, for some people deciding to stay close to their family might affect the career limitation. In conclusion, the reasons for choosing to live in the same region during one's life may be directly related to the choice to be close to their relatives or career prospects. Such an action might have gained in the sense that more time can be spent with families and friends, however, losses in terms of not vivid experiencing other cultures and limitations in their career path can be seen as some of the main drawbacks.