In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies in recent years have been highlighting the fact that their goods are new and better in one form or another. In this essay I will explain why they choose to do so and also I will also express my opinion as to why I think that this is a progressive development. The main motivation for businesses to market the product in such a way is to attract more customers. As a new and better product tends to have lots of buyers as people want to stay up to date with the latest items. For instance, Apple always makes sure to emphasize their newest features on their next iPhones in their advertisements. This highlights the value that their buyers will get by upgrading from their existing phones. In my opinion, this is a good strategy in today's markets as it promotes innovation and benefits the consumers. Businesses end up investing a lot of time and money into bettering their existing goods and staying ahead of their competitors thus incentivising innovation. Consumers on the other hand benefit as well as they are able to stay up to date about the new developments and discoveries in the markets worldwide. For example, digital artists are able to constantly update their computer programs and work more efficiently with the knowledge and access to newer programs and products. In conclusion, in today's world advertising is focused on the latest features in different items to acquire more customers. This is a hugely positive phenomenon as it leads to innovation and consumers get the ability to make an informed decision.