Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

With globalisation, there has been advancement in various fields and English has become a gateway to the world. I believe that no one should be deprived of the opportunities which arise for those with a strong command of English. However, this does not mean local speeches are not important, they have an important role in supporting education, including English. Generally, people prioritising local languages are the ones who can speak fluent English themselves. Advocates of minority dialect need to be fluent in a foreign language so that they can research their field and support their cause at the international level. In doing so, however, they are demonstrating that foreign language is important too. Learning English helps people to communicate in society, gain knowledge, further their career and make a global impact. So it would be unfair to unwillingly deprive individuals of new speech to promote the local accent in order to preserve tradition. This does not mean that the minority accent can be downplayed or dispossessed. Individuals are more likely to succeed in employment and education if they have command of both languages and they happen to work for a local community rich in tradition and history. In recent decades, efforts to regenerate and celebrate the indigenous culture by preserving their mother tongue and keeping the foreign language have demonstrated that the two speeches are mutually-reinforcing developments. In this way, minority dialect serves as the bedrock for learning a foreign dialect, rather than a hindrance in need of removal. In conclusion, I think it is important to learn English but I feel it is unnecessary to frame learning new speech and keeping the local dialect alive as conflicting possibilities. two languages together support the other and can coexist. it is up to people to find out the best possible way to work with them together in particular local contexts.