Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has a strong presence in today's society, such as living, studying, and working. Personally, I believe that a proper balance of technology use will have a positive impact on an individual's daily life. This essay will expand on the two opposing perspectives on the use of information technology in everyday life. One of the most significant advantages is that information technology enables quick communication and enhances personal security. Having technical tools such as a smartphone and the internet enables people to interact and communicate with one another at the touch of a finger. Students and employees are permitted to work from home and conduct meetings remotely, which results in cost savings associated with reduced travel expenses. Additionally, there are numerous advantages to adopting information technology as a home sitter. If the homeowners are away on vacation and have a pet or valuable property to look after, smart home technology such as a WIFI camera that alerts the homeowner to any suspicious moving object can help. On the other hand, it is undeniable that information technology has had a significant impact on a person's mental health. According to a sociologist research paper, the average screen time on a mobile phone is 16 hours or roughly two-thirds of a day. This indicates that individuals spent more time on their smartphones than they did interact with others. Since humans are highly social animals, a lack of face-to-face interaction may result in loneliness and anxiety. As a result, depression among internet users may worsen. In conclusion, information technology can be beneficial in terms of protecting households and reducing the need for travel, but it can also increase social boundaries that isolate people from real-sitting. This problem, in my personal view, can be solved by managing screen time and using the saved time to spend with friends and family.