It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is considered vital that young ones understand the distinction between right and wrong while at a tender age. Therefore, to help them grasp the lesson, discipline is required. I completely agree with this statement because punishment can enable a child to understand the lesson being taught. Hence, guardians and teachers should be allowed to execute corporal punishment on them. Childhood is a critical stage that requires discipline to be administered so that the young stars can fully grasp the difference between right and wrong. This is because, for a child to have a change of attitude towards something bad that he holds in high esteem, he needs to be forced to do so through punishment especially while still young. For instance, in order to teach a child the essence of not playing a soccer ball inside the house, parents can confiscate the item thus helping the young one have the lesson engraved on his mind. Henceforth, without punishment, no child could learn right from wrong. Like many other people, I too value this stance. As a result, it would be appropriate for the law to permit teachers and parents to children to execute corporal punishment. This would mean that a child is spanked for every wrong action taken and ensuring he understands the reasons for it in the process. I believe that this would remind the child of the consequences he would bear should he go on the same path in future. For example, in a survey conducted by the Zambian government on the effects of corporal punishment on a child, it was determined that children were able to portray good behaviour as a result. Thus, even though this type of punishment may bring pain, it does result in a positive change in children. By way of conclusion,I reaffirm my stance that punishment helps in ensuring a child understands the difference between right and wrong. By extension, parents and teachers should be allowed to spank children in order to enforce good behaviour.