Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

According to the justice system, which has been practising for centuries, a jury in a criminal case has not given the past criminal reports of offenders due to various reasons. Although some lawyers try to change this, this could give bad impressions to the jury about the defendant as well as, it could lead to injustice due to the preoccupied mind of the jury. Hence, this writer is in complete disagreement to change this low. To begin with, when we consider the jury system in countries, it may contain different professionals and people in society. furthermore, they are supposed to give their opinion on a very fair mind, by concerning evidence from both parties. However, if they knew about the defender's past criminal reports, they can preoccupy their minds about the defender and this may lead to injustice. For example, according to a report published by a famous psychiatrist in England, if someone has a bad impression of a particular person, it would be very difficult to change their mind even if the person is innocent. At the same time, if the jury knew the past records of the defender, the community would think about the gravity of the past criminals of the person and they may think about the past charges against him. this could lead to relate this present situation of the defender to the past and, unfortunately he could receive injustice even though he is innocent on both occasions. In conclusion, even though some people are against not giving past records of a defender to the jury, this has protected defenders' rights for decades and it is justifiable. Hence, this writer is in complete agreement with the fact that the jury should not reseved the past records of a defender before giving a decision about him.