As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Globalisation has undoubtedly increased consumer behaviour. Some opponents support that getting access to goods produced overseas enables people to consume them locally. However, I would argue that transporting materials internationally is not favourable as it has many downsides, it not only contributes to pollution but also it impacts nation's economy. The prime reason that shipped goods need to be prevented is pollution. Transportation requires the usage of fossil fuels, resulting in high carbon emissions, thereby causing air and water pollution. Pollution is a critical cause of global warming and therefore reducing carbon is of paramount importance. It is crucial all world leaders need to take collective steps to either cut down on either transportation or explore alternative ways of transporting materials. Secondly, it has an impact on the country's productivity as there is a huge amount of money paid on taxes and customs. This is definitely an issue, for example, instead of importing China products, it is high time that we start manufacturing ourselves. In one of the tweets, our Prime Minister has mentioned the need for local produce, to illustrate, he mentioned that producing local lights and toys created tremendous employment opportunities. On the other hand, people can experience global products locally without the need to travel overseas. For instance, foreign produce like Kiwis, strawberries, other luxury items like imported cars can be experienced without travelling overseas. To recapitulate, there are several reasons that local goods need to be promoted rather than international products. For instance, there is a negative effect on the environment because of the fossil fuels used in transportation. Furthermore, it affects the local economy which will have negative repercussions on employment. On the contrary, local people will get to know about the products around the world and will get a chance to try them. Therefore, I will contend the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.