In theie advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, marketing strategies play a crucial role when it comes to find the best way to lounge a product. Some companies are of the idea that by focusing on the "new" factor they can attract more customers. I believe that this trend can have a negative impact on people's live from a psychosocial perspective. First of all, the major reason as to why businesses use this method is only for the sake of profit. In other words, in today's world, the newer is the product, the higher is the income, so therefore, more and more companies are starting to take advantange of this modern vision and implement it in their publicity campaigns. A clear example of this is Apple, which uses this selling strategy to increase its figures annually and also educate its consumers to keep purchasing the lastest devices. As a result, this might lead to an excessive and innecessary consumption of goods. Considering all the psychosocial aspects of this development, I think that this can have a detrimental effect on the mental healh of individuals. In short, the desire of wanting more and more seems unstoppable and this behaviour can lead to a constant feeling of dissatisfaction, and perhaps depression at its finest. For instance, buying new products, like technological gadgets, can make one's feel excited at the beginning; however, this feeling is not permanent and one will come back to their initial stage of discontent. To conclude, it is clearly seen that the new-world marketing strategies are developing incredibly fast. Although, companies are creating new products that might improve people's life, the way they are presenting it is concerning to say the least. People should reflect on the long term consequences of this phenomenon.