With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends, which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

It is true that an increasing number of young children are using social media as a means of communication with friends without adult supervision. This can indeed lead to harmful situations for youngsters, and I believe parents and teachers can take some measures to tackle this issue. One of the effective solutions to hinder young people from using the internet unsupervised is for the parents to find ways by which they can restrict what their children have access to on their gadgets. To do this, parents can install some parental control software on their children’s devices, which will allow them to remotely control the websites that contain offensive content or sexual images, and control what their offspring can see online. Also, for young kids, they can limit the screen time or allow the children to watch only channels for kids, where all the videos are filtered for the sake of children’s safety. Another solution that authorities at school should choose is to include educational programmes about using the internet in their curriculum so as to open the eyes of young students to the correct use of the technology. For example, teachers can design their lessons around the topics of digital literacy, cyberbullying and how to ensure the safety of personal information to provide more opportunities for the students to understand the potential risks they may face while going online. In conclusion, the advances in technology may lead youngsters to misuse the internet including social media unless they are supervised, and guardians and teachers should solve this problem by limiting their access to the inappropriate content and educating them on the potential situations so that they can use the internet more wisely.