As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Thanks to globalization, it is generally acknowledged that the world population can use goods that are imported from other countries by transportation such as aircrafts and ships. While some people are concerned about the disadvantage of this trend, I strongly believe that the advantage of this way overwhelm than the drawbacks. On the one hand, some individuals believe that buying commodities that are transported from other nations cuases environmental problems since the tranportating process is required the consumption of an excessive fossile fuels by airplanes and ships. Not only does using fossile fuels cause greenhouse gas, thereby leading to global warming, but it may also bring about oil leakage in the ocean which disturbs marin ecosystem. For example, a survey conducted by the Korean Environmental Preservation Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of the food mileage in Korea has increased compared to ten decades ago. As the example clearly illustrates, the trade between countries brings about environmantal issues. On the other hand, the standard of life of customers will be increased by importing goods as the horison poison of choice is widen. What is more, when consumers suffer from a lack of products in their countries, they can easily gain them from other countries. Recent media in Korea reports that about 30% of self employed people who owned a chicken restaurant faced difficulty during the pandemic of bird influenza in 1994, they could maintain their living with importing ingredients. Therefore, it is reasonable to point out that commodities that are transported by aircrafts and ships from other countries play a key factor in a living. In conclusion, while I accept that this trend may contribute to environmental problem, the merit of using goods that came from other countries supersede the demarit. However, I recommend that governments should balance both sides by reinforce the environmental regulation.