In many countries senior positions have higher salaries compared to those of young workers of the same company. Some people think this isn’t justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Globally, in many places, there is a disparity in the payscale of individuals in high-level positions with respect to mid or lower-level professionals and a certain section of the society, are of the opinion that such a difference in pay is unwarranted. Throughout this essay, I will provide reasons along with substantiation on why I am not in consensus with the opinion of the people. To begin with, most times a designate for a senior management position is hired on the basis of his qualification, prior experience and the value addition that he can bring to the organisation. Furthermore, to reach that position the person has garnered the requisite work skills in real-life situations or projects over a stipulated period of time. Moreover, the responsibilities, work pressure,and accountability at the senior level will also be considerably high in comparison to other work peers below him. Besides, people in such positions are strategic and pivotal to the decision-making chain of the establishment. For instance, the profit and loss director of a company is not only liable for the end-to-end revenue stream of the company but also for the organisational structure, operations etc. Hence, it is imperative that the individual be compensated monetarily for his broader work scope. Another point to be considered is that employees in mid or low-level management may be still in the learning phase and might not be competent enough to handle things independently, without the support and direction of their superiors. Even though an individual may possess a certain calibre in handling his work, he still might constraints in dealing with other aspects of the business for which he is yet to build the skills. For example, a trainee might be good in coding or any specific technical skill but lacks the capability of presenting his ideas to the client, who is the end-user of the technology. Therefore, it is not rational to compare the pay scale of workers at different levels of the corporate. In conclusion, a higher designation entails certain abilities and responsibilities, which cannot be matched with mid or lower-level workers. hence, I am of the opinion that higher salary must be paid to senior officials in comparison to juniors.