In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Considering many young people have been gaining weight unhealthily, a few argue that this issue should be resolved by the government. I totally agree with this viewpoint, because most parents do not have enough knowledge to teach their kids, and public schools do not provide healthy food or the amount of physical activity needed. One of the main reasons I believe the government is responsible for the bad eating habits of the children is because most families do not understand anything about nutrition, as they were never taught, and think being healthy is expensive. For instance, if there were classes to teach how to choose quality food at an accessible price and prepare it, more people would develop this awareness from an early age. Besides, the children would be able to teach their parents and friends, helping to spread useful knowledge and change their mindset. Another key argument to support my view is that the food provided in public schools is unhealthy, and most children do not have a chance to exercise, so they might become obese, which could contribute to other diseases, such as diabetes or heart problems. For example, by providing vegetables and fruits to children and free sports classes, as well as explaining their importance, it would be easier for them to become healthier adults. Thus, public money would be saved, as there would be a decrease in the number of exams, medicine and surgeries spent. In conclusion, it has become more difficult to deal with the increasing amount of overweight children. I believe some investment is necessary to spread knowledge about nutrition among children, as parents are incapable of helping sometimes, as well as provide healthy food, and encourage children to have a more active lifestyle. Therefore, if the government wants to reduce their health expenses with obese adults, they should be more concerned about raising awareness among children now.