Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problem.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?  What other measures do you think might be effective.

Air pollution is one of the biggest threats to our environment and therefore to solve this issue some think the rise in the cost of petrol is one of the measures that can be taken in order to control pollution as well as traffic. However, In my opinion, this is an effective measure but for a short period of time, there are some other measures that will be more effective in combating this problem. People consume petrol or diesel on the daily basis for commuting purposes especially from their workplace to home. Therefore, the increased fare of petrol will affect their monthly budgets and after a few days they will demand from the government to decrease the cost. Moreover,the rise in the cost of petrol also engenders inflation. Because the increased price of petrol directly increases the prices of other things like food, clothes and other amenities. For example, last week Albertans experienced a rise in the cost of gas by 30 cents per litre that also affect the cost of other amenities and now all Albertans are demanding from the government either to decrease the price of gas or to increase the minimum wage so that they would not face imbalance in their monthly budgets. However, there are some other solutions that can be taken which will be more effective in the long term in solving this issue. The government should encourage people through various programs to use public transport because it is cheaper than using their own vehicle.The more people will use public transport, the more they will save and also there will be less traffic on the roads. Another measure is promoting cars and buses that run on batteries. As the burning of fossil fuel is the main reason behind air deterioration therefore with the use of cars and buses that use batteries could help in maintaining air quality. A real-world example of this would be in Japan, where the government has subsidized those types of vehicles that run on batteries to save our environment from pollution. To conclude, it is the responsibility of every human to take an oath not to use things that could contaminate our environment. In this,way we can protect our atmosphere and the mother earth from being contaminated.