The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

During the last three decades, a surge in the number of individuals having cars led to traffic congestion in many places of countries. This essay agrees with the statement because the population has expanded at an alarming rate in few nations. This essay also suggested the solution by refining the public transport system by the government. First of all, due to ten-fold augment in the population of few countries augmented the demand for the private vehicles. Thus, in order to sustain the social esteem more and more people are buying the cars which have resulted to traffic congestion. For instance, In India, every member of the family has their own individual car and they prefer to commute alone rather than to pool with their office fellow workers. Thus, it has led to more cars on the road which has ultimately resulted in Traffic jams. To eradicate this problem, the government should invest in improving the public transport system. Many nations around the world has poor public transport facilities for trains and buses. As a result, the people have to buy vehicles to get rid of this issue. To curb this problem, the government should focus on developing the public transport network by adding more bus routes and including the metros to the transport system. Moreover, these transport services are cheaper and faster, considering the traffic jam situation. This will act as alternative for the car commuters to use an efficient transport system, which will help to curb the traffic congestion. A recent study concluded that the introduction of Metro railways in New Delhi lead to a significant reduction in the traffic jams by 50%. Therefore, nations should work towards making public transport network strong. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that dramatic rise in the number of cars during the last thirty years is the main reason for the hike in a traffic jams around the world because the population has increased considerably during the the period. The main remedy to this problem is by upgrading the public transport network which the government has to take it seriously for the well being of our society and environment.