In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

In these days and ages, people work competitively in order to run their company’s economy, thus, many employees are claimed to take long hours at work. This essay will discuss the reasons for this situation and my opinion of why this is a negative development. There are various reasons that are attributable to the increase in working hours of people. Firstly, most employees nowadays are willing to work long hours to quickly gain success. Specifically, paying a lot of time and effort is possible for employers to climb the career ladder, which gives them a stable status afterwards. Moreover, having overtime shifts may let them earn a higher salary in order to cover a better life. Secondly, encouraging employees to work more hours than normally is one of the ways to raise a country’s economy. Japan, for example, always stays as a top developed country in the world, this is a result of long-hour working. Although a number of positive reasons are mentioned above, it seems to me that this development has serious effects on people. Overworking is a potential impact that directly harms people ’s health. It is clearly seen that paying too much attention to work may lead to unstable mental health, employees usually suffer from fatigue. Thus, patients are easily falling under stressful, under pressure, which decreases their work productivity. Another negative influence is that people will hardly find happiness due to the heavy workload. Indeed, they do not have time for family and childcare as well as personal hobbies. As a consequence, senses of loneliness and dullness are created. In conclusion, the economic issue is the most common reason for additional working time, however, I am prone to the negative sides of this trend.