“In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?”

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that offenders participate in television shows that be broadcasted for the public in some nations. While every trend have its pros and cons and this is not an exception, I believe that the drawback outweighs its counterpart. It is undoubted that allowing perpetrators to be shown on media platforms have several advantages. People usually see trials as dangerous and redundant individuals in society, although they have profoundly fixed their mistakes so witness criminals under a different image can help the public understand what they have been through. For example, many offenders from American television shows about crime declared that the programmes have helped them to get a job and be accepted in society again. Thus, having shows about perpetrators can do wonders for some forgivable lives. On the other hand, television broadcasting is a common media platform on a daily basis so the contents that be shown on it need to be strictly controlled or it will lead to several pressing problems. Firstly, children can watch programmes about criminals, and they will think that breaking laws is an ordinary action because many people did it already. For instance, many young criminals in the USA said that they have watched crime-related shows. Secondly, the workshop of an offender sometimes involves violent aspects, which will create negative impacts on the public. Lastly, this trend can be an opportunity for criminals try to fool the citizen in order to re-offend. Hence, it is not a wise decision to let perpetrators be shown on television. In conclusion, despite having some positive impacts, I believe that allowing criminals to be broadcasted on television harms the morale of society.