Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people have argued that protecting the environment should be the duty of the political office holders rather than the ordinary citizens who have little to offer. This essay agrees with the latter view that politicians have far greater influence in driving an impact as regards preserving the environment. The essay will argue that even though, the individuals have some roles to play and can agitate the government for a positive change, the lion's responsibility still lies with the political stakeholders. Firstly, citizens do have some critical responsibility to play toward ensuring that the environment is safe for all, as they are the main players that will be coordinated by the government to bring about any beneficial change. In other words, they are the ones who partake in activities that can negatively affect the community. For example, they are the ones involved in bush burning and clearing, hunting for wild animals, and even working in the large factories where the most obnoxious gaseous wastes are released from time to time in large quantities into the atmosphere. It is therefore not out of place, why some have canvassed that they should be the first target to address in other to have a convincing change. However, the influence they can have is limited. On the other hand, the politicians can have a far-reaching influence as far as the issue of environmental protection is concerned. This is because they are likely to get to the position of authority, and can use their power to drive revolutionizing positive changes that will have a greater impact on the environment. For instance, lawmakers and even executive cabinet members can engineer policy that strives to protect the environment such as enacting prohibitive laws against human and industrial activities that can have damaging consequences on the environment like bush burning or the release of harmful gases in the atmosphere. In addition, agencies can be set up to monitor and coordinate these human and industrial activities. In conclusion, though the individuals have their own roles to play toward making the environment safe, in my opinion, the politicians are the major drivers of any meaningful changes that can have an effective impact.