Many people say that they believe it is important to protect the environment but make no effort to do anything about it themselves.  Why do you think this is the case?  What action do you think individuals should take to protect the environment?

More and more people admit that protecting the environment is essential, but they prefer to chant a slogan rather than make genuine efforts. This may be due to individuals feeling powerless to make big changes, or even possibly just individual laziness. Regardless of the reason, there are some solutions to alleviate this trend. People think that protecting the environment needs resources and costs which are unaffordable for individuals. That is why people count on governments and authorities to improve the environment, since they pay a lot in taxes. Moreover, citizens claim that they are struggling to meet the ends and protecting the environment has many complex processes that they do not have enough time to do, like separate waste. To relieve this situation, governments should raise the public’s awareness that everyone has the responsibility to protect the environment and change their pattern of thinking that protecting the earth is not a massive task. For instance, if one person saves a bit of energy everyday, the short amount of energy would be later than scientists’ prediction. Another way is to explain how to achieve these small things to protect the environment, like using visual materials to introduce the steps of selecting garbage and using high-tech AI to assist people to put their waste in the right place. In conclusion, I reiterate my firm belief that individuals need to evolve from being armchair activists and be more pro-active in doing something themselves to protect the environment, no matter how small.