Many people say that they believe it is important to protect the environment but make no effort to do anything about it themselves.  Why do you think this is the case?  What action do you think individuals should take to protect the environment?

More and more people admit that protecting the environment is essential, but they prefer to chant a slogan rather than make genuine efforts. This situation may be due to individuals feeling powerless to make significant changes, or even possibly just individual laziness. Regardless of the reason, there are some solutions to alleviate this trend. People think that protecting the environment needs resources and costs which are unaffordable for individuals. That is why people count on governments and authorities to improve the environment since they pay a lot in taxes. Moreover, citizens claim that they are struggling to meet the ends and protecting the environment has many complex processes that they do not have enough time to do like sorting waste requires remembering a large number of waste categories and cleaning recyclable waste, which is a massive amount of work for people whose free time is squeezed by society. To relieve this situation, governments should raise the public’s awareness that everyone has the responsibility to protect the environment and change their pattern of thinking that protecting the earth is not a massive task. For instance, even small things such as turning off lights and saving water can contribute to delaying the time of the energy shortage predicted by scientists and help the environment. Another approach to improvement is to simplify the steps on how to protect the environment, making the complex task of remembering into visual and simple steps, like using visual materials to introduce the steps of selecting garbage and using high-tech AI to assist people to put their waste in the right place. In conclusion, I reiterate my belief that Individuals need to evolve from being armchair activists and be more pro-active in doing something themselves to protect the environment, no matter how small.