Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

University education is one of the most important elements of an individual’s life. It is not just a learning process, it is a critical component of human development worldwide. Going to an educational institute and getting a degree is considered to be the best way by some for having a good job and a prosperous life. There are others, who contradict this statement and believe that getting some sort of practical experience and investing your time in learning a skill is worthier. In this essay, I will analyse both these views and give my opinion. On one hand, the supporters of tertiary education may argue that spending money on higher education has many tangible (real and not imaginary) and intangible (to give an exact value) benefits. An educated person has a wide range of opportunities as compared to a skilled person moreover, an educated person is able to choose his own career path as compared to a skilled person who is more dependent upon physical labour. Most of the universities across the world have courses and degrees that are universally recognisable, so one has chances of moving abroad for better opportunities However, developing skills is also a major component as not always does a university degree prove to be worthy of its cost and time spent on it. Various studies have shown that 30 per cent of the students drop out in the second year of their course as they believe they were never sure about education. Unemployment among university degree holders is rising at a rapid rate and due to economic,slow down most of the companies are making their employees redundant. The cost of a university degree is very high and most people in developing countries often take loans to complete their higher education. Not to mention the additional burden of fees that families have to bear. In conclusion, after looking at both sides, I do believe that developing soft skills does have some advantages over university education in the short run but in the long-run benefits of university education certainly outweigh minor drawbacks such as cost and unemployment