Parents should not allow young children to play computer games. What extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of computer games has given rise to a new dilemma for parents, whereby some people suggest that parents should prohibit their offspring from playing computer games. I do not agree with this idea; and rather propose a closely monitored and strictly scheduled digital playtime for juveniles. It is indubitable that computer games are extremely addictive for being developed in a way that they successfully lure adolescents to continue playing for a prolonged period of time. Such a practice often results in loss of valuable time and health. Consequently, it reflects on their academic performance through lowered grades, which is the leading cause of disappointment amongst many parents. Hence, it is justifiable for parents to deprive their kids of any access to computer games. However, some coexistent advantages of playing computer games must not be overlooked. Because most video games require logical thinking, quick reaction, and problem-solving abilities, playing such games helps children enhance their cognitive skills, and playing multiplayer computer games further instils in children the ability to work efficiently in teams. These skills, though developed inadvertently during playing computer games, are generally proved to be determinative of a successful career. Notwithstanding the rationalisation highlighting the advantages of computer games, full parental control and advisory is paramount. Therefore, the parents must observe and regulate the time their children spend on computer games and other equally important activities. Apart from that, parents must have the final say in what type of game their child could play because not all computer games are equally benefitting as some involve extreme violence could cause more harm than good. To sum it all up, I would like to acknowledge the immense benefits of playing computer games and reaffirm the belief that parents should not feel tempted to isolate children from computer games. Instead, parents should place themselves as the protective veil between kids and computer games by acting vigilantly and limiting the time spent by them on computer games.