Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

The last years, the number of people owning a car has so dramatically increased that many cities are facing traffic problems and the word is described as 'one big traffic jam'. In my opinion, it is true that currently we are having trouble with so many vehicles on the roads, but what government can do to reduce the use of so many cars? Many cities, especially the big ones, like London, suffer from congestion in its roads, even though many people use the public transport it seems that many drivers still use their own cars. As long as someone go for a walk at the city centre can understand that. Surprisingly, for example from my apartment I can go to the city centre within 20 minutes by walk, but by bus it will still take the same time! That happened because of the traffic that the roads have. There is no doubt that except from their environmental effect that all this traffic jam has, also people are nervous for always spending that much time on their transport and government should take some measurements about it. It is obvious that the congestion charge for entering to the centre, the rise in petrol cost and the expensive car insurance have not discourage the drivers, so maybe it would be efficient if the government invest on public transport. More lines, even more frequent schedules, to renovate the underground to make it bigger, more spacious, cleaner. Moreover, the fee ticket should decrease to be affordable and to create cheaper monthly bundles for cheaper transport. To sum up, it is undeniable that everyone prefer to move with its own car, but for the daily moves should government make more appealing the public transport and that will be achieved if the monthly expenses will be much more less than moving with your own car and by having at least a bus stop within 3 to 5 minutes walk from your apartment.