Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Government spend money on different fields to improve economic growth and societal well-being. Even arts are among the many investments that governments make. I disagree that governments must invest money in public services instead of in arts. Analyzing the significance of boosting the country’s soft power by investing in the arts, as well as the great emotional pleasure that arts may bring to people will prove this. Firstly, arts such as music and theatre represent the soft power of a nation. For instance, it is widely known that countries that hold Olympic events are well known all over the world because they present unique design and imagination through the participation of numerous artists who make collaborative efforts to implement the opening and closing ceremonies of this event. Therefore, this makes it clear that the money invested in arts will never be wasted. Secondly, governments should not invest solely in public services and spend no money on arts. The reason is that arts bring great benefit to people’s mental ease and will release their anxiety and stress accumulated from long working hours. For example, going to a concert or watching a movie is the best choice at the weekend which will definitely cheer up people’s mood. Thus it becomes apparent that the government’s money spent on the arts is absolutely worthwhile. To summarize, the government should invest in the arts. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of spending money only on public services can not be supported. After thorough analysis on this subject, investment in the arts is always beneficial to the nation, and because of this, money spent will never be wasted.