As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

The controversial topic concerning trade never fails to attract public attention. The world is becoming smaller as many products are increasingly transported from their origin to other far places in the world. That begs a question; are the benefits of trading among different countries more than the drawbacks? In my opinion, the answer is yes. However global trade negatively impacts the environment, This essay will discuss some benefits of global trade like flourishing the global economy. It is beyond any doubt that buying and selling items globally has major cons to the environment. That is due to the fact that commodities need the power to be transferred from one place to another. The longer the distance is the more fuel will be burned. For instance, China is one of the major players when it comes to trading throughout the world. They burned more than 20 million tons of fuel in one year just for transporting their products to Europe. Therefore, more environmental could be expected if other nations decided to continue buying or selling products by transporting them long distances. On the other hand, trading goods globally could flourish the global economy drastically. Because it opens many chances for countries to earn money. For example, more airports, ports and infrastructure would be required to be able to keep up with the increasing number of products that are transported overseas. Which also means more opportunities for local people to work. Thus the whole economy of the country that exports as well as the country that imports would be in a good shape financially. In conclusion, selling and buying products globally is increasingly flourishing. There are some demerits to this, such as the negative impact on the environment since this trade will require more fuel to be burned and there are also some benefits such as flourishing the global economy. I think that the benefits of this trade are more than the demerits.