For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary. To what extent do you think this is a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, this is a trend to go to shopping centres to utilize their free time or to meet someone while it was not a common thing in a past era. I believe that there is nothing wrong with this trend and will shed light on the reasons related to this trend To begin with, shopping malls provide citizens with a great atmosphere with different sections such as gym, spa, games and cinema. So it is the best idea to go there to use their free time. Moreover, this is not only a place where people can get out from their daily stress but also spend some memorable time with their loved ones. For example, a survey conducted by the University of British Columbia on the 100 people from different countries states that there are 80% of people in the world like to go to the cinema on a weekend to use their leisure time and it is a helpful activity for them. On the other hand, Shopping malls provide people with a feeling of security because whenever, couples or friends meet each other in public places such as parks, on the roads. they feel insecure because there are many cases in India where the couple got arrested just because they were talking to each other on the road. However, that couple was not against the law but they had to pay a fine. In addition, shopping malls are covered with surveillance cameras, security guards and other enjoyable activities, where people can go and spend their time without any interruptions. For instance, An article written by Mr Benjamin Bradlee in 2016 stated that people feel more secure about their personal life in shopping malls as compared to parks or roads. To conclude, most people want a secure place to enjoy time with their family or friends and these shopping malls provides them with just that. I believe that this is a good trend as compared to our past era.