As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectaction of job satisfaction for all workers?

The majority of the population spend most of their adulthood working, therefore job satisfaction is fundamental for individual wellbeing. This essay aims to enumerate the most important factors that contribute to job satisfaction and to explain why the idea that everyone can be satisfied with their job is utopic. There are 2 main factors that help to achieve job satisfaction. Firstly, the worker needs to feel that he is contributing to the company and society. This is because otherwise they would think that they are useless and they would be stressed thinking they can be fired at any time. For example, firefighters are among the most satisfied with their jobs because people consider them to be heroes. Secondly, workers spend several hours in their working place and thus, a good work environment is extremely important. For instance, if employees were forced to accomplish goals that are very difficult they would be negatively affected. Although it is always a good idea to improve job satisfaction, achieving that on all employees is utterly impossible because every person is different and has different necessities that change over time. It is certainly true that it could be achievable in a small group of people for a limited time, but is not possible to do that in a different environment such as a big company. To sum up, the most important factors that contribute to job satisfaction are the necessity of the worker of feeling useful and a good working environment. Additionally, it is only possible to achieve job satisfaction an all workers on a small scale and for a period of time, therefore full job satisfaction for all workers is unachievable.