Some people believe governments should spend money in saving the languages of a few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We live in a linguistically diverse world. However, there are several minority languages on the verge of extinction. While some people feel the government should fund the survival of these indigenous languages, others are against this notion. This essay will discuss both views and why we should conserve these languages. I believe it is essential for the government to safeguard languages. Language is the glue to culture and education. With language, you are home anywhere in the world. Language binds the community together. With the loss of language, there is a loss of culture and identity. Many indigenous languages are going extinct, for example, Sanskrit, Maori language, and Irish. Many attempts were made to conserve these languages, including allocating older adults who can speak fluently in the minority language and placing them in kindergartens to teach children and preserve their language. On the contrary, plenty of youth nowadays is learning English as the primary language of the internet. Hence, having one common language is the aim of particular groups of people who prefer the government not to waste money preserving rare languages. With globalisation, youngsters believe forgetting their native language is a sign of progression. Furthermore, the money used to save these languages can be used in healthcare, education or innovation. In conclusion, I firmly believe languages should be saved to safeguard the culture of our ancestors. In my opinion, the finances used to safe languages are indeed an investment and not a waste.