Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Books are a man's best friend. Reading books helps to develop one's thinking capacity and intellectual. I completely agree with the statement and the following discussion will support my cause. There are many positives of spending time with books. Firstly, it stimulates the imagination of the reader. For example, when you read a story, you imagine the plot, the characters which accentuates your thinking. Secondly, it enhances the linguistic and literary skills of people. A citizen of India can learn various languages like chinese or spanish by reading the self learning language books. In contrast, although the films and television have various technological advances like VFX and CGI which provide the viewer with out of the world experience, it usually is a one sided information transfer. People just watch the televison passively and don't have to stimulate their mind. Moreover, due to spending a lot of time staring at the screen, people also develop refractive problems. In conclusion, I would say that people especially youngsters should be encouraged to develop the habit of reading books to benefit their minds.