Write about the following topic: ‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss.

With the advancements of science in the world, the emotions among society are reducing. The amount of dignity parents receive nowadays is negligible when the contrast is given in the yesteryears. This is becoming harmful to the community. This essay discusses a few possible reasons for this current situation. There are multiple factors leading to this. However, growing technology is one of the major reasons. Technology has invaded our lives replacing the knowledge resources of the offspring. In the past parents and teachers were considered as major knowledge resources. Easy access to the data the children required is making them less dependent on parents assuming themselves smarter than their parents ignoring the fact that their parents have life experiences. Such replacement of the persons will naturally reduce the gratitude feeling towards them such as availability of gadgets and internet reduces the conversation between parent and child. Consequently, nowadays most families are nuclear. This leaves the child with no bonding with grandparents and parents as well making them less emotional. As a result emotions like love, affection, and respect vanishes in those young minds. For instance, A recent survey in India revealed that 75 percent of children who come from joint families are proven to be more emotionally connected to their families rather than nuclear families. Living more independently makes the heir from small families less attached to their parents. In conclusion, reasons like advanced technology and growing nuclear families make youngsters less emotionally connected thus leading them to give less dignity to their parents than those olden days. This undoubtedly has a great impact on society resulting in depleting family values.