Some people think that economic growth is the only solution to stop poverty and hunger, while others think that economic growth is damaging the environment and should be stopped immediately. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's modern era, the impact of economic development is debated. some people believe that it is harming the environment whereas others believe that economic development is helping countries to eradicate poverty and hunger. in my,opinion the only way to stop poverty is through economic advancement by creating jobs and growth in various sectors. Firstly, to end poverty the government of those third world countries need to create more jobs by building plants for producing goods to export. these factories will create demand for labour and eventually these workers will have a source of income. Therefore, they can create wealth and improve their lifestyle. Furthermore, countries that have limited natural resources need to grow their economies in different sectors in order to end poverty. For instance Singapore they have spent many years in the financial sector in order to stay competitive in the market and now they have become the richest nation in the whole Asia region. On the other hand, it is undeniable that building the economy of a country will affect the environment. some people argue that it will accelerate global warming because development often involves deforestation. Trees are cut down to build houses. As a result, carbon dioxide will increase significantly and potentially will worsen the global warming issues. However, halting the economy is not the solution rather we should find ways to grow the economy without harming the environment. In conclusion, although some economic damage will inevitably occur people can enjoy better life when jobs are created. If the country says no to environmental development for the sake of the environment they will not be able to survive for long. Therefore, on balance, I believe that economic development is the only way for the country to grow and prosper as such it should not be halted.