Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that many individuals choose their career or job which they are neither fascinated nor passionate about. In the following paragraphs, the cause and effect will be examined in detail. To begin with, the root of this cause may be because of early age people. In my country, in the past, there was a norm that everyone had to work hard for a living, even if the jobs did not appeal to them, and parents always taught their children that if they chose a job, they would get nothing but regret and poverty. For instance, my father told me that when he was young, my grandfather needed him to be a doctor because this career would earn massive income and it was an honour job. Therefore, he became a doctor, but he told me that was not what he actually wanted to do. Furthermore, there was several of content on the media, such as televisions, billboards, advertisements and so on, as a soft power that could be a propaganda tool to implant their thoughts. So, these notions have been attached to their perspective from then until present. As a consequence of this problem, that mindset is forwarded to young people because of their parents. Hence, it makes people believe that they have to work for money or choose a job that is accepted by the public, otherwise they will be considered unacceptable in society. At present, however, the world is changing, people also have to change their perspective. There are various kinds of career paths that can be selected from our ability and skills, not only doctors and teachers should be admitted, but also artists and other jobs.  According to the information mentioned above, it can be concluded that the reason that makes individuals limit their career paths is because of the customs from the past.