Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

According to many, public transportation should be free for everyone in all urban cities. It will encourage people to switch from private vehicles to public buses, trains and trams. However, as a drawback, a more burden will occur on taxpayers. Due to the increasing use of private cars for travelling, air pollution has increased and it has become a major problem in many big cities as well. If public transportation is made cost-free, it will not only motivate commuters to use it,but also it will reduce traffic congestion and pollution problems. For instance, in Switzerland, many prefer to use local trams to travel because of the cost-free route made by its government. On the other hand, no charge on public commuting means low quality service. To clarify, the cost for the maintenance of public transportation comes mainly from the travel money paid by users, but when it is made chargeless, the services provided by them will decrease eventually. Hence, to cover up maintenance charges, the government will ask for more tax from taxpayers. In India, before the election the government announced a discount on train travel to get popular votes from citizens, but many did not notice until the government raised the tax rate to fix the loss from discounted price. In conclusion, free transportation may be a solution for environmental problems and a motive for its increasing use. At the same time, it can be costly on others who pay tax to the government.