Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsary part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children ). To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It is commonly being said that voluntary services should be a mandatory subject for high school students. I strongly agree with this statement as this approach not only helps to mould children into responsible citizens but also offers many job opportunities. The predominant reason why I support this is that today's generation is more self-centred. If they are taught to help others or work for the better of the public, they don't hesitate to help the needy whenever it is required. For example, it is evident that individuals who have learned the significance of community services in school are actively involved in all social issues since they consider it as their responsibility. Moreover, they can learn many soft skills such as kindness, empathy and interpersonal skills while engaged in social activities, which is very essential to become a better citizen. In addition to the above, learning community service offers many career opportunities. To be precise, learning social activities at school introduces them to various work sectors, and students who are interested in this can opt for such works in the future. For instance, of late, nearly all organisations recruit social workers in order to support their employees who are suffering from mental and physical stress. Therefore, it improves the job opportunities of a social worker. To conclude, a few individuals think that including voluntary services in the high school curriculum is beneficial. I completely agree with them as it aid children acquire various life sessions that are gradually being disappeared from society, and also provides better career prospectus.