Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do agree and disagree? Give reasons, examples to you answer.

In current days, it is common that countries import food products from other foreign countries. For instance, Japan imports various fruit products from Taiwan. This phenomena raises us a question whether countries should buy foods from other countries or they should produce food products by their own as many as possible. In the following, I will offer my view. Some argue that countries should not rely on imported foods; rather, they should produce foods by their own via manufacturing or farming. This way is beneficial to countries ' stable development since they will not be effected by other countries easily. For instance, if the output countries are in financial crsis crises, they may raise the products ' prices. In this way, countries that import too many food prodcuts may spend a large sum of money on those products. As a result, they have to cut off their expenditure on other stuffs, such as infrastructure, education, or medicine, hence detrimental to their own development. However, I think for some small countries; they are hard to produce foods by their own. An exemplar is Singapore. This samll country does not have enoguh land and population to develope their own farming industry. Consequently, they primarily focus on providing financial services, which need not land and population, to other countries. Therefore, the Singapore government does not really have a choice. It can only import foods from other countries for the consumption of their citizens. In short, I agree that countries producing foods by their own is advantage to their development. Yet, in some special cases, purchasing foods from other nations is unavoidable. Thus, at least for those particular cases, I think that countries do not have obligation to produce foods by their own.