Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of computer technology has made our lives easier and more comfortable. The translation system is one of the innovations that destroyed the language barrier. Still, there is an argument whether this translation innovation could replace language learning. On one hand, we have to admit that the translation system is a game-changer to foreign language studies. Nowadays, it is easy to translate unknown words in different languages to your language. Computers have made accessibility to the world of foreign languages an easy experience with a click. Therefore, many people use computer translation rather than spend time studying foreign languages. They think it is unnecessary to study language as computers could translate for them. On the other hand, computers still could not translate the whole context accurately. Different languages have different slang and phrases, which sometimes exceed the ability of computers. For example, Thai is one of the hardest languages in the world. Many Thais use slang regularly and there are likely new slangs daily. This made the translation almost impossible in some situations. Moreover, even if the computer could translate languages for you. It is still important to study languages in order to communicate with foreigners fluently. You need to study languages in order to understand complex contexts. To conclude, I oppose the notion that learning a language is a waste of time. Languages are more complex than people think. This is why we should learn languages to understand them more accurately despite the convenience translating technology has brought to us.