Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is an important source of energy for the body and has various benefits since it could absorb quickly and be used immediately. However, consuming too much sugar could cause more harm than good. Many manufactured food and drink products such as fast food contain overdoes of sugar that the body needs. I definitely agree with the statement that higher prices on sugary products would help people avoid health problems and change their buying behaviour. Consuming high sugary products such as sugary drinks, candy, baked goods, sweetened dairy, and fast food could bring negatively affect our body in many ways. Eating these kinds of food could lead to some serious diseases such as obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and tooth decay. In addition, sugar is lack nutritional value. Adding it to foods and drinks significantly increases their calorie content without adding any nutritional benefit. Increasing the price of sugary products is the best way to reduce health problems in order to change their buying behaviour. For example, if healthy food is cheaper than fast food, people will be turning to eat healthier foods more. Moreover, when people tend to buy less sugary products, it would encourage manufacturers to produce products with less amount of sugar. Thus, sugar consumption would reduce significantly and it would reduce overall health issues. To summarize, many manufacturers generate high- sugar foods that are harmful to our health. Therefore, increasing the price of sugary products could decrease the consumption rate of this kind of food. Additionally, It would also push producers to create sugar -free goods.