Some say that for any country hosting an international sports event such as the Olympic Games is costly, inefficient and is a waste of money, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing popularity of sports entertainment, many countries are willing to host these events, but at the same time some people believe that It is expensive and requires a lot of effort. In this essay we will discuss both the views and give our opinion as to why it is a burden to citizens of the hosting country as well as a boon to its economy. When international sports events are held, the economy of that country gets boosted. As tourism also plays an important role in the economic development of a nation, such sports programmes attract millions of tourists from many countries. It will increase the sales in local business such as cafes, restaurants, hotels, pubs, public transportation, domestic and international flights. For instance, according to a Times survey,due to the Olympic games held in China in 2008, it received numerous visitors at that time which was never experienced before, since the 1960s when China started open trade business. However, conducting mass sports entertainment comes with economic scrutiny to some countries. It's no doubt that a huge budget is spent on constructing the physical infrastructure for them which can be expensive to other development priorities of the country. Prior to Brazil World Cup 2014, many Brazilians protested against it because the cost in development stadiums were costing the daily lives of people as major government funds were allocated to it. In conclusion, great sports events help the country to be famous to the world and showcase its culture to the world. On the other hand, it is also the responsibility of the government of the host country to decide whether it really benefits.