Many people think that too much attention and resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been pointed out that the government and the general public invest too much energy and funding to protect a wide range of wild creatures. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea as preserving wild creatures has countless benefits in terms of the advancement of agriculture and medicines. First of all, wild insects have positive impacts on the development of agriculture. Due to the increase of populations, individuals have to convert woodland and wasteland, in which there are countless amount of pests, into agricultural land in order to harvest much grain and survive. The pests are the food of wild animals, so they can eat pests naturally, which reduces the workload of farmers, thus reducing the risks of being destroyed of agricultural land. For example, in China, a significant number of farmers state that birds eat insects every summer, which not only saves their time to look after their land but also saves money to purchase pesticides, resulting in more rice can be harvested. Furthermore, investing a great deal of money and energy to conserve animals prompts medical development. This is because several wildlife and human beings have similar lifestyles and body structures, so observing and collecting data about wild species provide researchers amazing opportunities to consider a new illness from different angles, thus promoting rare illnesses to be cured and more medicines to be produced. For instance, a Japanese professor said that he went to forests or regional areas to observe birds’ lifestyles in order to invent a new medicine to treat throat pain effectively. After 10 years of experiments and efforts, he found a new medicine successfully. Although people may vary in their opinion about whether the authorities and ordinary individuals spend too much time and resources preserving wild species, I am of the opinion that every single person ought to be encouraged to take charge of the protection of wild animals as it benefits not only the gain of foodstuff but also the development of medicines.